Five SEAS computer science students named 2011 Siebel Scholars

1 min read

Five stellar students dedicated to the study of computer science at the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS) were named among the recipients of the 2011 Siebel Scholars awards.

Karim Atiyeh (M.S. candidate); Michael Lyons (Ph.D. candidate); Geoffrey Mainland (Ph.D. candidate); Rohan Murty (Ph.D. candidate); and Yinan Zhu ’11 (joint A.B./S.M. candidate) will all receive a $35,000 award for their final year of graduate studies.

From facial recognition to CPU brains to novel wireless networks, the scholarship winners are exploring the frontiers of computer science.

The SEAS-affiliated students in computer science are among other honorees hailing from Carnegie Mellon University, MIT, Stanford University, Tsinghua University (China), University of California, Berkeley, and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Siebel Scholars are selected from among students who rank in the top of their class and are chosen by the dean of their respective schools on the basis of outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated qualities of leadership.

Cherry A. Murray, dean of the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, will host a reception for the winners later in the fall.