AAAS selects four faculty members as fellows

2 min read

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) recently awarded the distinction of fellow to four Harvard faculty members. In all, 471 new members were named for their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.

The new fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold or blue rosette pin (representing science and engineering, respectively) at the association’s February meeting in Boston.

The new fellows from Harvard are William C. Clark, Harvey Brooks Professor of International Science Public Policy and Human Development; John Cowles Professor of Anthropology Peter T. Ellison; Sidney A. and John H. Hessel Professor of Biology Naomi E. Pierce; and Gordon McKay Professor of Environmental Engineering Peter P. Rogers.

According to AAAS, Clark was selected for distinguished contributions to interdisciplinary studies of global environmental change, particularly in regard to the uses of scientific knowledge in sustainability policies and practice. Ellison, meanwhile, was awarded the fellowship for his “highly influential research on factors of intrinsic and environmental regulation of human fecundity across a range of cultural and geographic settings.” Pierce was selected for her distinguished contributions as researcher and teacher to the field of behavioral ecology, particularly for her studies on species-specific associations between lycaenid butterflies and ants. Lastly, Rogers was elected for his significant contributions to the study of resource management, particularly for use of analytic optimizing methods incorporating both natural phenomena and engineering controls.